Beer, Pizza, BrAun, Looooong Interviews

It’s Been a Long Cussin’ Day

As you may or may not know by now, I’m a writer at FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business (yes, that’s how they market themselves) and I sit around all day in a gray cube farm writing marketing copy for attorneys throughout the country.

Regardless of how boring it is, I get paid to write. Not bad.

Yesterday, I blew through an FS 2 site with my tendency towards coffee/walk around/bathroom breaks — a feat I’ve been growing into for a month. It was nice to finished so many pages in only one day. I need to make that a reoccurring thing!

Today, however, after editing and sending the site off, I had no writing. Zip. Instead of writing, I sat around for the rest of the day listening to recorded development calls (a.k.a interviews). Of course I was supposed to meet with a new girl and go over the calls and discuss them with her.

Oh, I didn’t mention this part… After a month of working here, I’m being moved from my low(er) level team up to the “Custom” team. In this team, I’m going to have a LOT of interaction with our clients and the people I’m writing for and working in (more of a) team setting. I’ll be writing bigger, more complicated sites on top of that. But of course, I won’t get paid any more for doing this. It’s good though.

It’s especially good considering the fact that one of the three people I started with, Oliver, didn’t come back this week. He was let go already. I’ve heard rumors of a few reasons, but I’m not sure why it happened exactly. Either it’s the fact that work is slow on that team or the fact that he writes in British English and the attorney editors are sick of tweaking the majority of his writing.

So all in all, it’s good… just boring so far. I haven’t actually been interacting with clients yet and haven’t been writing much, just sitting through meetings and 1.5-3 hour interview calls.
*gun in mouth*

After Scho… Work Activities!

After a day of listening to recorded calls in a cubicle, I naturally had unhealthy amounts of pent up energy waiting to burst through my pores. So after leaving work and almost skipping to my car in the -15 wind typical for Minnesota, I ran errands. I almost went to the gym, but I realized beer was a better fit for my mood. Beer from Wisconsin.

I bought a sampler case of Leinenkugel’s and began my errands. Advice: Buy beer AFTER running all of your errands, otherwise you’ll be thinking about the beer in your car so much you’ll question being an alcoholic.

Long story short, I bought beer, ran around one of the local malls three times and came home to eat pizza and drink beer.

This. This stuff is great. This is what I’m drinking. Right now.

It also just won some award for Best Craft Beer too. I’m not sure from whom, I read/heard about it last week.

So congrats Leinie’s!

Ya’ll are one of my favorite breweries.
And yes, that’s a HUGE compliment.

I’m a big fan of everything you guys make… EXCEPT for the Berryweiss and Honeyweiss. I really hate those.

Oh, I also bought a new electric razor tonight. While at the mall, I kept looking into things I wasn’t interested in just so I could be moving around inside, but still not in the gym. I stopped in Sears and found this:

I’m excited. Yep, excited about a razor. Buying a razor is hard and a big deal!

There is (rarely) a middle ground with extremes on both ends. Either there is a 20-dollar P.O.S. or a $200 elegant robot thing.

But tonight, I found a rarity. This BrAun.

It’s great and it was a middle ground.
I spent $80 on it.
Still pricey, but a BrAun is worth it.
Yes, I’m going to keep capitalizing the “A” because it’s part of the name. I’d do the same for any other brand I like.

In other news, #TPRPchat is on Friday. Check it out on Twitter. If you don’t know what that is, figure it out!

Maybe tomorrow, I’ll break this post up into the four it deserves.

Tots…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Beer, Pizza, BrAun, Looooong Interviews

  1. leinenkugel’s isn’t nearly as appreciated as it should be… i’m definitely a fan of their summer lemonade beer (name escapes me right now), but i’m happy to have stumbled across your blog… i’ll be sure to read more in the future!

  2. yummmy:) thanks for ur share i’d love to follow u.

Leave a comment