Review: TheraPod Pro-Fit Earplugs by Acu-Life

I received a free set of these TheraPod Pro-Fit Earplugs from Acu-Life just before the Holidays to give a test run and review for them.

Here is a link to their site: TheraPod/Acu-Life Ear

Here is my honest review:

I work as a copywriter in a very loud office, so I was excited to give these earplugs a chance. Apparently I focus better when my surroundings are quite. Who knew?

After opening the box and reading the instructions (I didn’t want to do it wrong and lose my hearing forever…dramatic, I know) I mixed the two balls of goo together and stuff my ears with it.

At first, it was weird. Can you really blame me though, who enjoys sticking goo in their ears?  You’re supposed to keep the stuff if your ears for 10-15 minutes or so while it shapes to your ears — talk about custom ear plugs.

For me, this was the highlight of the product. Just about everything was cut off and I was alone with my thoughts. Really the only thing I could hear was my own breathing, which was bizarre. I felt like I should be in space.

After letting the goo form to my ears, I took the plugs out and put them in the little case that’s provided in the package and I went to bed.

The next morning, and few days after that, I tried wearing them at work. Remember, noise and writing jobs aren’t the best of friends. But every time I tried, it was tough to fit the plugs into my ears again comfortably. Despite being formed to my ears, they were now stiff and were not all that comfortable. While trying to shove and maneuver them into my ears, little white and turquoise chunks kept falling off of the plugs and were getting lodged under my fingernails. After wearing them, uncomfortably, for a little while, I took them out and put them away and went back to the free white noise website I regularly use.

I may or may not have done something wrong, but the best part for me was the formation part. After that it was a downhill slope.

I’m bummed that I have to write a negative review for a product provided free of charge, but I’m not the type of person to just write only happy things. I do wish they would have worked out in my favor, but I guess some things just don’t jive with me.

(Also, I finally received that golden moon oolong tea, a review will be up after I try all of the samples and get around to writing it.)

3 Comments

Filed under critics, reviews, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Review: TheraPod Pro-Fit Earplugs by Acu-Life

  1. I know this is going to sound a bit old fashioned but, I actually like looking after my hearing and whilst I do agree with the previous poster and I really hope I do not get shot down for saying this, but I guess it is essential to take all things in moderation.

  2. I admire your honest review and opinion. We need more ethical bloggers like you! Great job Nate.

  3. knoxn

    Thanks, Lisa!
    I appreciate your kind comment.
    It’s always nice to hear from fellow TPRP’ers

Leave a Reply

